A cordial welcome to the webpage of St Mary’s Church. 

The church was built to serve the rapidly increasing population of the area during the early 19th century, and was consecrated on 25th July 1837. The church itself consists of a chancel, nave and a porch on the southern side. It is constructed of yellow- grey Fisherton bricks, having Bath stone dressings and a slate roof. At the time of its construction it was described as a ‘neat and unostentatious structure in the Gothic style’. Since then it has changed little externally. Internally, however, it was originally designed to seat 420 but subsequent changes, notably the removal of the gallery in 1951, has reduced its capacity. 

The church nestles comfortably in its own ample churchyard and is surrounded by memorial stones to former parishioners. Besides being a place of rest this churchyard has also receive the Bishop’s Award for being retained as a wild life conservancy. 

We are always delighted to receive visitors to St Mary’s, whether to worship at one of its services (clink the link opposite for times and dates), or to sit in contemplative prayer. Alternatively you may prefer just to enjoy the quiet, light filled simplicity of its interior and afterwards, perhaps, explore the churchyard to discover its fauna and flora. 

St Mary's Church is situated between the A338 and the A36 about 7 miles south of Salisbury and two and a half miles east of Downton. Its postal address is Church Hill, Redlynch, SP5 2PL.